View|Files Panel

(available in EditPad Pro only)

The Files Panel is a panel that sits docked at the left side of EditPad's window. You can make it visible by selecting Files Panel in the View menu. You can dock the panel elsewhere by dragging its caption bar or its tab.

The Files Panel shows a collapsible tree of the projects and files you have open in EditPad Pro. All project nodes in the tree sit under the EditPad Workspace root node. Each project node contains nodes for the files in the project. Depending on the options you enabled under the View button (see below), the file nodes may be grouped under folder and file type nodes under project nodes too.

Files that have unsaved changes are highlighted in bold. Closed files that are still part of managed projects are dimmed if you choose to show them at all. Outside files in managed projects are shown in italics.

The Files Panel offers several commands that you can execute via the panel's toolbar, or via the right-click menu. The key difference between these commands and their equivalents that you find in EditPad Pro's main menu is that these commands work on the files and projects that you have selected in the Files Panel, rather than the active project or active file.

Edit

Double-click on a file node to activate the file for editing. If the file's project isn't active yet, it will be activated too. Double-click on a project node to activate the project, and the file last active in that project.

Save

If you've selected one or more files, those files will be saved just like File|Save would do. If you've selected a project, that project is saved like Project|Save Project As would do. Saving a project does not save the files in that project. If you've selected a folder, all files listed under that folder in the Files Panel are saved.

Close

Closes the selected files or projects like File|Close and Project|Close Project would do. Closing files does not remove them from managed projects. If you've selected a folder, all the files listed under that folder are closed, and the folder will disappear from the Files Panel.

Remove from Project

Closes the selected files and removes them from managed projects like Project|Remove From Project would do. If you've selected a folder, all the files listed under that folder are removed from the project, and the folder will disappear from the Files Panel.

If a project is selected, the project is simply closed as Project|Close Project would do.

Save Copy As

If you selected one file or one project, you will be asked in which folder and under which name you want to save the copy of the file or project. This works just like File|Save Copy As and Project|Save Copy of Project As do for the current file or project.

If you selected several files, you will be asked for a folder to copy the files into. All selected files will be copied into that folder under the names they already have. This way you can quickly copy a bunch of files.

If you selected several projects, you can choose whether to copy the .epp files into which the projects themselves are saved, or whether you want to copy the document files held by the projects, or both. All those files will be copied into the folder you select under the names they already have.

Rename and Move

If you selected one file or one project, you will be asked for a new name and folder for that file or project, just like the File|Rename and Move and Project|Rename and Move Project do for the active file or project.

If you selected several files, you will be asked for a folder to move the files into. All selected files will be moved into that folder, without being renamed. This way you can quickly move a bunch of files to a different location.

If you selected several projects, you can choose whether to move the .epp files into which the projects themselves are saved, or whether you want to move the document files held by the projects, or both. All those files will be moved into the folder you select under the names they already have.

New Project

Creates a new untitled project. If one or more files are selected, they will be moved into the newly created project. This is a quick way to split a project with many files into multiple projects with a manageable number of files. If no files are selected, the new project will have one untitled blank file.

Move to Project

Removes the selected files from the project(s) they're in, and adds them to the project that you select in the Move to Project submenu. You need to open the project you want to move the files into before you can move them. The submenu only lists open projects.

This command does not move the files on disk. It only changes which project the files are part of. If you move closed files or outside files from one managed project to another, those files remain closed files or outside files in the project you've moved them to.

Add Outside Files

If you have one or more outside files selected in a managed project, those files are made part of the project as open files.

Open Files from This Folder

Opens the File|Open dialog showing the folder that you selected in the Files Panel, or the folder containing the file or project that you selected in the Files Panel. Other than the default folder for the file selection dialog, there is no difference between this command and File|Open.

Explore in EditPad

Opens the Explorer Panel and selects the folder that you selected in the Files Panel, or the folder containing the file or project that you selected in the Files Panel.

Explore in Windows Explorer

Launches Windows Explorer showing the folder that you selected in the Files Panel. If you selected a file or a project, then Windows Explorer is launched showing the folder containing that file or project, with that file or project selected in Windows Explorer.

View

The View button on the Files Panel toolbar has a submenu with options that determine what the Files Panel displays and how the Files Panel is organized.

Sort

When there are multiple files under the same project node or folder node, the sort option determines how the files are ordered. The option does not affect the order of any other nodes.