Open Files Preferences

On the Open Files tab in the Preferences screen, you can configure how EditPad should handle files when opening them.

Folder to Use for Open and Save Dialog Boxes

You can select if the file selection dialog boxes that appear when you want to open or save a file. First, you can choose which folder is the default when you do not have any file or project open in EditPad, or when the active file or project is untitled. The default folder can either be the last folder you opened a file from or saved a file into, or it can be a specific folder such as your "My Documents" folder.

In addition to specifying the default folder, you can choose if the folder containing the active project or file should be used instead of the default. If you turn on the active file option, the folder containing the active file will be used for opening or saving a file when you have a file open. If you turn on the active project option, and the active file option is off or the active file is untitled, the folder containing the active project will be used instead. The default folder is only used if you turned off both options, or the active file and project are both untitled.

You can also set a default folder for opening and saving projects in the same way.

Locking and Reloading Files

By default, EditPad does not keep a lock on files. This means that other applications or users can modify files that you have open in EditPad. If you don't want this to happen, turn on "lock files being edited in EditPad, preventing other applications from writing to them". The option whether or not to lock files only applies to files smaller than the huge file threshold (see below). Files larger than the huge file threshold are always locked. EditPad Pro doesn't read those files into memory entirely, so it needs to keep access to the original file on disk.

When not locking files, EditPad can automatically reload files that have been modified on disk by another application or user. If you turn on this option, EditPad will check whether a file's modification date has changed each time you switch between files in EditPad, and each time you switch between EditPad and another application.

By default, when you switch from another application to EditPad, EditPad only checks whether the active file was modified on disk. If you have multiple files open in EditPad that were all modified on disk, you'll only be prompted to reload the active file. When you switch to the other files, you'll be prompted for each of them at the moment you switch to them. If you turn on "automatically reload all files in the active project that were modified on disk", then EditPad Pro checks all files in the active project whenever you switch from another application to EditPad. If multiple files were modified, you'll be prompted for all of them at the same time. You'll be able to choose for each file whether you want to reload it or not. Regardless of whether this option is on or off, when you switch files within EditPad, EditPad check whether the file that you're switching to needs to be reloaded.

When automatically reloading, EditPad will prompt when you've modified the file in EditPad, but not when you haven't modified the file in EditPad. Turn on "always prompt before reloading files from disk" to make EditPad prompt to reload the file even when you haven't modified it in EditPad.

When editing files over a slow network connection, checking whether a file was modified on disk may cause a brief delay when switching between files in EditPad or when switching from another application to EditPad. If you experience this, turn on "only reload files automatically; do not check whether network files were modified on disk". Then the options to automatically reload will only apply to files stored on your own computer. Modern storage devices allow EditPad to do this check instantly. EditPad won't check files stored on another PC or server that you're accessing via the Windows network, so a slow network doesn't slow down your work in EditPad.

Huge Files

EditPad Pro is capable of handing files of almost any size, including files larger than 4 gigabytes. However, loading such large files entirely into memory would quickly exhaust the available memory of most computers, slowing down the system to a crawl.

Therefore, you can set an upper limit on the size of files that EditPad Pro will read into memory entirely. You can choose any threshold between 10 megabytes and 10% of the total amount of RAM in your PC. On 32-bit Windows, the maximum threshold is 200 MB, even if your PC has more than 2 GB of RAM. Files larger than your chosen threshold will be swapped out to disk. This slightly slows down EditPad, because reading from disk is slower than reading from memory. But it makes sure EditPad does not use too much RAM so your computer keeps running smoothly. To be able to read files as needed, EditPad Pro needs to keep a lock on those files. This means that EditPad Pro will lock files larger than the huge file threshold, even when you've turned off the option to keep a lock on open files.

EditPad Pro also uses the huge files threshold to disable certain processing that would take too much (CPU) time on very large files, so that you don't have to wait on EditPad or have your laptop's battery drained by EditPad unnecessarily. Syntax coloring is disabled for huge files, unless you've selected a "fast" syntax coloring scheme in the file type configuration. Fast syntax coloring schemes are schemes that don't require the whole file to be processed. File navigation schemes are also disabled. The File Navigator will remain blank and automatic folding points will not appear. When opening the file or toggling between text and hexadecimal mode, EditPad will put the cursor at the start of the file rather than at the previous position, so that you don't have to wait for EditPad to scan line breaks up to the previous cursor position.