On the Save Files tab in the Preferences screen, you can configure how EditPad should handle files when saving them.
To make sure you never lose any data in case you change your mind after saving a file, you should turn on one of the options to create backup copies. The "single backup" options will keep one backup copy of each file in the same folder as the original. The "multi backup" options will keep multiple backup copies in the same folder. The "hidden history" option will create a hidden "__history" folder below each folder, and put the backup copies there. The "multi backup" and "hidden history" options work best with EditPad Pro's File History. The File History lets you easily compare, delete and revert to backup copies.
By default, EditPad uses a quick method to make backups. It moves the original file into its backup location, and then writes the file you're saving as a new file. This works perfectly when editing files on your Windows PC or on a Windows server, but may cause issues if you're editing a file on other systems, such as a Linux server that makes itself visible on the Windows network using Samba. When EditPad moves the file into a backup location and writes a new file, the newly saved file may not have the same UNIX file permissions of the original file. To prevent this, turn off "quick backups". Then EditPad makes backups by making a copy of the original file. Then the original file is modified with the new text you're saving.
EditPad can automatically limit the number of backup copies for each file to a certain number. When the number of backup copies is exceeded, EditPad will automatically delete the oldest ones. EditPad can also limit backup copies by age. When you save the file, backup copies older than the specified age will be automatically deleted. You should turn on at least one of the backup limitations when choosing "multi backup" or "hidden history" to prevent an ever-increasing number of backup files from taking up too much disk space.
If you enable both limits, they are enforced simultaneously. EditPad will never keep more backups of a single file than the maximum limit, even if that means EditPad has to delete files that are younger than your age limit. It will also never keep backups older than your age limit, even if the maximum number of backup files has not yet been reached.
The limits are only enforced when EditPad actually creates a backup copy. If you set the age limit to 1 month, edit a file regularly for 3 days (creating many backups), and then don't edit the file for a year, those year-old backups will remain. The year-old backups will only be deleted if you save the file again, leaving a single backup copy (with the contents of the file that you overwrote after one year).
Normally, EditPad saves backups in the same folder as the original files, or in a hidden "__history" subfolder in that folder. If you'd like all backups to be saved into a particular folder, turn on "save backups in a specific folder or subfolder" and specify the full path to the folder where you would like to keep your backup copies. If you'd like the backups to be created in a subfolder of the folder that contains the original file and choose the name of that subfolder, turn on the "save backups in a specific folder or subfolder" option and type in the name of the subfolder.
If you save backups on a separate drive and that drive is running low on disk space, you may want to use a file manager to delete all files older than a certain age and/or larger than a certain size. Since EditPad does no bookkeeping of its backup files, deleting them using another application causes no issues. In EditPad Pro you can also use the File History to delete all backup copies of the current file or project.
The "closing unsaved files" option gives you three choices as to what EditPad should do when you instruct it to close a file to which you have made changes that were not yet saved to disk:
If you want EditPad Pro to automatically save your work regularly, select to save working copies. EditPad Pro will then save a copy of all modified files every couple of minutes. When working on document.txt, a file Working copy of document.txt will be saved into the same folder as document.txt. When you save document.txt or close document.txt without saving, the working copy will be automatically deleted.
If the document is not properly closed, because of a power loss or software crash, the working copy will not be deleted. When you open document.txt next time, EditPad Pro will automatically open both document.txt and its working copy. You can then choose which file you want to keep and which you want to delete, possibly after using Extra|Compare Files to assist with your choice.
Note: If you have both "document.txt" and "working copy of document.txt" open in EditPad Pro, and you start editing the former, the latter will be automatically overwritten after a few minutes. So if you want to keep the working copy, you should use File|Save As before editing the base document.
Working copies of unsaved files are saved in the "specific folder" you have specified in the "folder to open for open and save dialog boxes for files" section on the Open Files tab in the Preferences, even when you have "most recently used folder" selected there. If you restart EditPad Pro after a system crash, the working copies of unsaved files are opened automatically when you start EditPad.
If you want to continue working with the same set of files the next time you start EditPad Pro, turn on "automatically save and reopen workspace". You can also choose the file into which EditPad Pro should have its workspace. The workspace will contain a list of project and files that you have open. The next time you start EditPad Pro, those projects and files will be automatically reopened. If you restart EditPad Pro after a system crash, it will open the workspace along with all working copies of all files in the workspace.
By default, EditPad Pro remembers a whole bunch of status information for the files that you edit. This information is stored for all the files listed in the File|Open and File|Favorites submenus. It is also saved into .epp project files whenever you save a project. This way, each file will appear the next time you open it in EditPad Pro the way it did last time.
With "preserve file settings" turned on, EditPad Pro will store the settings from the Options menu that you've changed from their defaults in the file type configuration. With "preserve cursor position and folding" turned on, EditPad Pro will remember the position of the text cursor in the file, which part of the file was selected, bookmarks and folding.
Opening large files may take a bit longer when preserving the cursor position, as EditPad Pro then has to scan the file for line breaks up to the cursor position before it can show the file. Because of this, EditPad Pro won't remember the cursor position for files larger than the huge file threshold.