File|Reload from Disk

Select File|Reload from Disk from the menu to revert the active file to the status it had when it was last saved. This can be useful if you are viewing a file that is being written to by another program.

Note that if you switch tabs within EditPad or if you switch to another application and then back to EditPad, EditPad automatically checks whether the file on disk has been changed. If so, and you have not modified the file in EditPad, it will be automatically reloaded. If you did modify the file in EditPad, you will be asked if you want to keep the changes made in EditPad or reload from disk. In the Open Files Preferences, you can disable the automatic reload, or make EditPad always prompt before reloading.

If you click Keep Changes, EditPad will not reload the file, and will not overwrite the file on disk unless you use File|Save. If you want to keep both the changes you've made in EditPad and the modified copy of the file on disk, click the Keep Changes button, and then use File|Save As to save the changes in EditPad into a new file.

In addition, EditPad Pro gives you the option to see the difference between the file in EditPad and the file on disk. If you click the See Difference button, EditPad Pro invokes Extra|Compare with File on Disk. EditPad Pro will not reload the file, and will not ask you again to reload the file, until is is changed on disk again. If you want to reload the file from disk after looking at the differences, use the File|Reload from Disk menu item.

See also

File Menu
Project|Reload Files from Disk
Open Files Preferences