Edit|Delete

Deletes the selected part of the current file. If nothing is selected, or when selections are persistent, the character to the right of the cursor is deleted.

This command is always invoked on whichever editor is showing the text cursor (vertical blinking bar), regardless of whether you use the main menu, a toolbar button, or a keyboard shortcut.

See also

Edit Menu
Block|Rectangular Selections
Block|Move
Fold|Delete Folded Lines